Pumpkin Cake

IMG_7295-1OKs

For me, this cake is kind of ‘heavy’, so much sugar and so much oil. I decided to make it anyway because I love pumpkin and I want to try new recipe from pumpkin. The pictures on the original recipe look sooo good, I couldn’t resist! Beside that, I had to get rid of my pumpkin which was already on my kitchen  way too long 😀 Well as long as we don’t make this sweet temptation in daily or weekly basis, I think it’s okay 😉

I did some modifications for this recipe; reduce the sugar and cinnamon by half (200 g sugar was just too much for me and I’m not a big fan of cinnamon), used gluten free flour blend instead of normal flour and I used different recipe for the frosting-with maple syrup instead of sugar. Surprisingly, even with those modifications, the cake turned out good. The pumpkin taste was so strong and it’s sweet enough. Love it!

The recipe below is my modification already, you can check the original here. Thank you Ashley!

Ingredients:

– 256 g gluten free flour
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 4 eggs
– 100 g white sugar
– 230 ml vegetable oil
– 425 g pumpkin, steamed, peeled, mashed

For the Frosting

– 150 g cream cheese
– 70 ml maple syrup
– 1 tbs milk

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and grease pan with butter. I used round pan diameter 26cm.
  2. In a bowl, stir together flour, salt, cinnamon, baking powder and baking soda.
  3. In another bowl, mix together eggs, sugar, oil, and pumpkin. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture and beat at low speed until combined and the batter is smooth.
  4. Spread batter into pan and bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow cake to cool completely before frosting.
  5. To make the frosting, beat together  cream cheese, maple syrup and milk at low speed until well combined.
  6. Spread the frosting over the cake and garnish with whatever you like.

IMG_7300-1OKs

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cake

Leave a Reply

